jump to navigation

The beauty and horror of multi-tasking September 21, 2006

Posted by origino in My thoughts.
trackback

I always multi-task.

Do you?

If you don’t know what I mean by multi-tasking, let me ask you a question: when you’re using the computer, do you open up, let’s say, Microsoft Word, MSN messenger and the web browser, and then use them all at once?

That’s multi-tasking.

And that’s what I usually do.

Not that it’s a bad habit… I mean, if you multi-task wisely it can sure help you save time.  But if you’re doing a billion things at the same time, you’ll definitely collapse.

And so will the computer 😀

So, think, before you multi-task.

Think.

Before opening up another new window, ask yourself, “do I really need this?”

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have a gazillion windows waiting for me to be closed…

P.S. multi-tasking actually means doing several things at once, but here I’m just talking about using the computer.

Comments»

1. clara - September 21, 2006

I’ve about 7 internet explorer , 3 microsoft word, one msn window yesterday. Cuz I was preparing for the presentation.

2. Bonnie_glass - September 21, 2006

(Before opening up another new window, ask yourself, “do I really need this?”)

3. Bonnie_glass - September 21, 2006

can you del my previous comment since some part of it

disappeared….? orz

The beauty and horror of multi-tasking…

sigh…what a good topic..

I am always tempted to do a lot of things in the same time

yet I am incapable of multi-tasking…

so in the end I just 一事無成…

This entry is inspiring…

I am really have to think about how to make the best use of my
time….

4. TJ - September 30, 2006

Linda Stone, former VP at Microsoft gave an interesting talk at ETech 2006 about the idea of Continuous Partial Attention, a new approach to our daily juggling routine. The way she describes it, we naturally tend to keep as many communication channels open as possible as a sort of survival mechanism–we’re always searching for what “could” be more important to pay our attention to in our environment. So, asking yourself “do I really need this?” really is a great approach to coping with so much technology. Linda Stone might ask whether the information or task you are about to engage is more important the present–will it help you “survive.” Good post.

5. vviuvkgy - October 3, 2006

byfwwkza

udfjgqzmgy bvrkqbvpm peqjymclmu oukiaphtq

6. sickr - October 9, 2006

As soon as I try to multitask or get somewhere multitasking my computer decides to be overly difficult and stall… Not good lol.


Leave a Reply

